stick control question.

henry_clarke

Junior Member
Hi drummers. I'm a beginner drummer trying to learn G.L.Stones book; Stick control for the snare drummer. My question is; In all tied note exercises, is the first note of the second bar considered a rest (not played)? or does it depend on the exercise? thanks for your help.
 

Alain Rieder

Silver Member
Hi, I guess you mean what's on page 12 for example.

The tie here isn't a duration tie, in this case it is used to show where the roll ends, and the note at the end of the tie is played.

Alain
 
Top