stick bounce!

iainp999

Hi Everyone,

Been lurking around here for a week or so; just signed up today. Seems like a great forum so far :)

Anyway, I've come looking for a bit of noob advice.

I've been playing drums for a few years without really having a clue what I was doing (I found it quite easy to play rhythms etc. but never got into the technical side of things).

So now I've decided to take lessons and learn rudiments etc. etc. So after my first lesson, my homework is obviously single/double stroke, paradiddle, flams and drags :)

I'm getting the feel of double stroke roll, but finding it difficult to get past a certain speed with it. Also, I'm struggling to maintain the same power in the strokes when I add speed.

Any tips?

I'm using matched grip and I can feel that my left hand's grip is changing through the roll resulting in less stick control/power. Probably a bad habit I developed through lack of training. Any tips on that?

Obviously I'll ask my teacher about this at the next lesson, but thought I'd ask on here first to see if I could iron things out during my practicing.

Anyway, sorry for the lengthy post, and good to be here.

Cheers,
Iain

C

Casper "DrPowerStroke" Paludan

Lain, welcome to the forum. Good first question, and an extremely important one! There are several threads about it if you look in the search function, and there are many opinions and debates, but I will give you my couple of most valuable points on this:

1) there are four basic motions the drumstick can make, regardless of what techniques you use: full, in which the stick starts and ends high; down, in which the stick starts high and ends low, tap, where the stick both starts and ends low; and up, where the stick starts low and ends high.