Steady Double Bass

Awakened2468

Hey, I'm new to this forum. I have never received lessons, I just play for fun and I am self taught. I was wondering if anyone could give me tips on a better steady double bass beat. I mostly playing thrash and groove metal (mostly thrash) and I am able to play songs like Angel of Death and Coma (Overkill) and things like that. My problem is that for some reason my left leg wants to automatically go faster and I have to force myself to slow down. Do any of you have any tips so I can avoid having that horrible hiccup in the middle of the beat? Thanks.

beyondbetrayal

Platinum Member
It sounds simple but the answer is practice.

You could try to a metronome to keep time.

I would suggest setting it slower than you want to.. focus on making sure each hit is clean and evenly spaced.. increase it 1 bpm per day or something like that. as soon as it gets sloppy dial it back.

It takes years to play good clean fast double bass well. I am guilty myself of wanting to play too fast too quick.. You will be quite happy if you focus on playing clean now then when you get up to speed it will sound great.

make sure both pedals have the same spring tension, beater distance, angle and all that too.. I sometimes adjusting my throne height makes a huge difference in my double bass playing. Sitting low or high changes the feel of playing totally

bud7h4

Silver Member
For steady, controlled single strokes I like to practice alternating between subdivisions. For example at 120 bpm, play 16th notes for two bars, then transition to 16th note triplets for two bars, and do this over and over.

Perfect example of this is Judas Priest "painkiller". During the verses you play 16ths, and for the chorus you play 16th trips. The song is at about 105 BPM.

For Left foot control in general, I practice playing with the left foot instead of the right as much as possible. Obviously not all the time, just when I'm specifically working on my left foot.

Last edited: