Stage Custom snare wire replacement - need help.

Vinny

Hi folks,

Total newbie here.

I need new snare wires for my recently acquired 1998 Stage Custom snare. The snare wires that came with the drum are attached with that off-white reinforced strapping tape. (actually the tape is so old it's now more yellow).

While shopping online for snare wires I noticed that many of the 14 inch 16 strand wires don't have straps so I'm puzzled as how I would install them.

Can any one tell me how to install them if they don't come with straps or tape.
I saw some threads here about using strings instead of straps but my snare doesn't look like it can use strings.

BTW, I saw the video re the PureSound Pro's and how they come with an advanced speed strapping/pin mechanism. Prefer not to try those yet unless that's the only option.

Thanks,
Vinny

lefty2

Platinum Member
I've mostly used inexpensive snappy snares. The last time I bought some I stepped up to Puresound. I don't know what model, but they're bronze colored, and not real expensive. All snare wires I've bought have straps or cords with them. Maybe the ones you've seen on the net come with them, but are not pictured. As far as using cords. They attach the same as straps. Just loosen the screws and slide the cord under the hold down bar and re-tighten the screws.

opentune

Platinum Member
Most snare wires come with cord or straps. You might not see them in the package behind cardboard. However, the real deal is to go to a craft store and for a few dollars get some grosgrain ribbon. It is far better and holds your snares perfectly. Since reading about it on here I have changed all my snares to this setup.

Vinny

Thanks for the suggestions!

Another question re purchasing the correct length snare wires.

Are the snare wires supposed to be long enough so that the end plates reach across to sit on top of both bearing edges?