Stack ideas

Kuromaku

I’m almost there in changing up my setup. I’m thinking of adding one more instrument that I don’t have any experience with - a stack.

Pics and descriptions of your stack(s) are appreciated.

Quai34

When I decided to have them on my kit it was because we were playing Dance/Pop songs sure claps and drumbox were everywhere but I wanted to get my drummer doing the same sound or close...
But I didn't have enough experience and cymbals at my disposal to try to build ones on my owns so, I bought the Sabian Mini Monster Stack, AAX Aero splash 12 on a AA mini holy china 12, I love it and all my buddies drummers too...They said that for a first try for a keys player, that was a really good pick.
Then, I thought the Sabian Sizzler 16", XsR china 16" under an Ozone XSR 16 top was a great complement for its little brother...
That said, I have no other experience with stacks than those ones, I was lucky to have both of them available at my store and then able to try them several times...

iCe

If y’all could only have one, would you pick a stack or a splash?
Splash. More diverse sounding IMO and a thinner splash is great for a stack like sound as well.

I don't have separate pics of my stacks, but you can spot them in the thread of my kit. I have 2 stacks; a Paiste PSTX 10" Swiss Splash with a Meinl Gen-X 8" Filter China on the bottom and a Paiste PSTX 14" Flanger Crash with a 12" Filter China on the bottom. If i remember it by then i will take some pics friday next week.

Kuromaku

@iCe How do you like that PSTX 10" on its own? Might go about putting together a stack the old fashioned way by getting some more ingredients first. It looks and sounds like that 10" Swiss would be perfect for turning into the top part of a stack later on as you have done, but I'll use it as a splash for a while first.

bud7h4

Silver Member
If y’all could only have one, would you pick a stack or a splash?