Sound dampening

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
I have no experience or interest in this but saw the ad so I thought I would post it here.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Interesting. It says it also stops drafts. I wonder if I can use it instead of putting plastic over my windows in the winter?

J-W

Thank you!
I'm going to look into these.

My windows (as with most) cause the biggest leakage of noise. Fortunately, the drums don't disturb anyone, because I play at reasonable hours and when my nearest neighbor is at work, but unfortunately I have other neighbors that think hiring a live band to play their daughter's Quinceañera party that starts at 9 or 10pm and goes until 2 am is perfectly acceptable.
No es Buena idea. At all.

C.M. Jones

Thank you!
I'm going to look into these.

My windows (as with most) cause the biggest leakage of noise. Fortunately, the drums don't disturb anyone, because I play at reasonable hours and when my nearest neighbor is at work, but unfortunately I have other neighbors that think hiring a live band to play their daughter's Quinceañera party that starts at 9 or 10pm and goes until 2 am is perfectly acceptable.
No es Buena idea. At all.

Ha! Most people define noise as any sound they aren't making themselves. Living within earshot of another drummer would probably drive me mad, a reaction that, given my drumming background, seems ridiculous on the surface, but there's a big difference when someone else is cranking out decibels. One of my uncles had a similar response to cigarette smoke. He was a fairly heavy smoker but couldn't stand being in the presence of other smokers. Humans are bizarre.

Last edited:

someguy01

Interesting product. Like @MrInsanePolack I would be highly interested in the draft reduction feature, however they only show it being used with single or double hung windows not casement windows which is what I have as do most homes in CO.

J-W