Something strange is happening

whitecatcafe

to me and my hands. It seems that about a week ago, I started practicing and I noticed that my sticks felt a little lighter than usual (I used a Vic Firth 5A to be exact). It felt really weird to me so I went out and bought a pair of 5Bs, but after a few days of usage, even those felt a little light to me. So I went back to the drum store and tried a few different sticks and finally settled on the Zildjian Tony Williams Signature stick which is something like a 2B. I really like the weight, balance and dimensions. I played with those sticks all day yesterday and it felt really good! Also, I use natural rebound quite a bit in my technique for the most part, 50% me, 50% stick and physics.

So the question is, what the heck happened to me? How did I go from a 5A to a 5B and now finally a 2B? Has anybody experienced something similar?

Jankowske

Have you been practicing parts with harder, faster sticking and/or practicing more frequently?

I used to use 7As. When I got really into marching snare I started swinging corpsmasters at a pad a couple hours per day. 7As started to feel like toothpicks so I went to 5Bs and then 2Bs in no time. A couple cracked cymbals later I forced myself to use 5As and I haven't gone back. They still feel small in my hands, but it's all the stick I need so I've gotten used to it.

Sometimes tastes just randomly change, too.

GeoB

Gold Member
I know what you mean. In my case it really depends on what I'm doing on the job. I do quite a bit of electrical work and at times a lot of carpentry, painting, brick etc... my days of strictly doing electrical work seem to be waning. I think that my hand fatigue really contributes to what sticks feel good on any given day.

So to keep playing I have to use a few different types of sticks.

For the Pad and ONLY for the pad....