Some wankin', groovin', and jammin'

zambizzi

Platinum Member
That'll be the title of my first DVD. :p Anyhow, I picked up a Pearl Reference kit from eBay a couple of weeks ago and damn! They're incredible drums and I'm just beginning to find the sweet spot on them...every time I tune them I'm more impressed.

I thought I'd share some sounds...

Here's a couple of clips from band practice last week. I didn't quite have them tuned as well as I would have liked, at that point).

Warm up - first thing that came to mind once everyone plugged in.

And, a weird little impromptu jam.

And attached are some clips from last night, after re-tuning everything. Nothing special, just testing out the mics after tuning up.

Thanks!

Attachments

frank0072

Gold Member
I'm listening to "ref groovin" and it sounds great, not only the drums, but also the groove :). Great cymbals too. What are they?

zambizzi

Platinum Member
I'm listening to "ref groovin" and it sounds great, not only the drums, but also the groove :). Great cymbals too. What are they?
Thanks!

All Sabian...

21" Groove Ride (can REALLY be heard clearly w/ extra condenser mics in band recordings)
19" Jojo Fierce Crash
19" Paragon Chinese
17" HHX Evolution Crash
14" AAX X-Celerator hats
10" Paragon Splash

brittc89

Pioneer Member
Im listenin to the jam and it sounds good man. I just have a question, do you ever take into account where you are falling in terms of the beat (ahead, behind, dead on), because Im hearing you slightly behind the beat, and the band is definitely not behind the beat and its giving it a weighed down sound to my ear. Also, make sure if youre gonna roll doubles on the hats theyre cccclllleeeeaaaaannnn, theres nothing thats gonna point out a failed double stroke roll like youre hats. Youre very solid man and I can hear improvement ever time you post, keep at it.

zambizzi

Platinum Member