Snares with 2 snare tension adjustments

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I have no experience with these. It seems like why bother. Tension is tension. Right? Why add the extra weight.

Is the ratio of marketing to function like 100 to 0? That would be my first guess, but am keeping an open mind about it.

So let's hear your thoughts on this very important matter :)

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
I'm thinking it has to do with stretch. If you center your wires, then engage the snare, the wires are no longer centered but pulled to one side. Being able to adjust from the other side also can keep them centered.

I had one of those dual adjustment Pearl snares. It was fantastic once I figured out how to set it up correctly.

It might also be the simpler answer to a snare system like the Dynasonic.

EDIT: Two adjustable throwoffs also puts half the stress on each throwoff as opposed to one. So if the tensional stress on one throwoff is 4lb, it will be split between the two at 2lb.

Last edited:

beatdat

Yeah, I think dual tension adjustments results in a more consistent response around the drum, but what do I know?

Pretty sure my Pearl free-floating snare drum has them, but I haven’t played it in awhile so I’ll have to check next time I’m at the rehearsal space.

MusiQmaN

Platinum Member
I love them on my Yamaha’s.

It makes adjusting so much more easier.

As a matter of fact on my side snare I only have the butt end models on both sides as I don’t use the release on that model.

70B8D978-2F6F-4733-B271-C53999F1DBE0.jpeg

It is s also easier for me to switch a snare from a right to left handed model because of the same hole spacing.
D0A7D3BD-72EC-47D9-8315-2501510E69E6.jpeg

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I'm thinking it has to do with stretch. If you center your wires, then engage the snare, the wires are no longer centered but pulled to one side. Being able to adjust from the other side also can keep them centered.