Single-point lugs / tuning question

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
I just picked up a Spaun USA snare for a trial period. I noticed that the lugs are single point, as in, there is only one point of contact with the drum shell. Do I need to take any special precautions when tuning, or is it ok just to tune it up like normal?

Not my snare, but mine has the same lugs.
1597401024577.jpeg

iCe

Never thought about it and don't have experience with it, but as long you don't tighten the **** out of the heads like a marching snare drum i think you're in the clear :)

ineedaclutch

Platinum Member
I'm not sure you need to do anything special, but maybe don't leave one side tensioned without tension on the other? This would be to prevent any shear force on the hardware. That's the only thing I can think of.

Edit: you may want to ask Andy. I believe he used to have one with a matching set iirc.

Last edited:

bongoman

That’s the one issue. I have lots of experience with single point lugs, and YES if you leave one side cranked tight when you change heads on the other side, the lugs get pulled toward the tight side, which can dent a finish or wrap, and stress the shell at the edge of the lug. Also, the tension on each head affects the other, since the lug can usually tilt a mm or two. So it doesn’t work to tune one head without the other one also installed with at least close to the right amount of tension. When I re-head my single points, I tension and tune both heads “at the same time” in increments.

roncadillac