Should I jump on this Gretsch?

Drivelikebrazil

I've been keeping an eye on craigslistand this just popped up recently:

http://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/msg/3643190741.html

I'm just starting out, and the price is more than I really want to spend, but it seems like all the pieces (if they're in decent condition) are worth more than the asking price. If this is the case, how easy is it to resell the stuff I don't want at this point (the mics)? Thanks for the help.

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
The weakest piece there is probably the DW 7000 pedal but I would take a look in person and be careful, but the price with Zildjians doesn't sound bad.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Definitely check 'em out. He mentions "wear and tear from gigging" a couple of times. Always a sign to have a good look at them......wear and tear may mean a lot, or it may mean a little, but you need to sight 'em first.

Another thing to note. Supraphonics are not steel, they are aluminium. It's a common mistake due to the chrome, but always worth checking to make sure you're actually getting what is advertised.

wildbill

Platinum Member
Depending on condition, it seems like a real good deal. That's also assuming you're familiar with the drums and cymbals, and like them enough that those would be your choices if buying individually.

See if he can send you some pics.

Drivelikebrazil

Cool, I'll definitely ask for some pics. My drum teacher offered to help me check out any drums that I'm looking at to make sure they're in good shape, so I'll definitely go set eyes and ears on them. Do you think I'd be able to turn around those mics to get the net cost down?

FlamFlamMan

I'm sure you can easily sell the AKG and SM57 mics if you want. They are very popular. However, the set of Nady's might be a white elephant. I don't really know since I've never used them, but Nady's are generally cheap mic packs. I suspect you could sell them but probably not for a whole lot.