Should I buy the Paiste PST7 set?

Psychedelic

Hello! I was wondering of buying the PST7 light set?

My drums are in a small room (7.5 x 7.5 feet) so would the light set be more suitable than the medium? (the light ride would be a bonus cause its crashable!). I don't like cymbals that would be too overpowering and harsh. I currently use pearl stock cymbals from my set and its weird that it sounds good! (or maybe because I haven't heard a professional sounding cymbal yet xD). I've been playing for about 3 months now and it's going great :)

The set costs $500 or P24,000 here in the Philippines. Cymbal selling here is sparse and most of the stuff are entry level. Although there are some used pro cymbals for sale, Its only 10-20% off from brand new so not much of a difference so buying used is hardly a good option for me.. The pro lines or K line set here sells for about $800 or P33,000 but that would be too expensive for me cause I'm still just a student saving up money from my allowance! Hahaha!

Should I get the pro lines instead or are the PST7's itself are awesome/professional sounding enough despite being intermediate level? I've heard, read, a lot of positive comments and reviews about the Paiste PST lines most especially the PST7's! P.S. Im still saving up money for this pack and it might take 6-12 months or so :)

Thanks for the help! :)

Last edited:
You're going to get all kinds of religion about this here.

In general, the cymbals are the most important investment.

Having said that, there Are legit low end values in cymbals out there.

Everyone's mileage varies, but I personally think the Paiste PSTs sound pretty good for the money. Yup, you can do way better for more money, but, they are pretty legit in my opinion.

I have a PST ride that is off the charts great.

Sabian XS or XSR are the best bang for the buck.
Same price range ,but better overall qualty.
Those are pro level cymbals at a medium price point.