Self taught drummer.. how do I take my drumming to the next level

angry chair

I play the drums, I am not a drummer. I find myself falling into the same, comfortable beats, doing the same fills and snare patterns, my kick is hardly consistent for long periods of time. I feel like I'm really stuck in a rut.

Should I learn songs? What songs? Are there books you'd recommend? How important are rudiments? How do I get faster? Learn better technique? Where do I start? I want to get better, I want to absorb everything I possible can and dedicate a large part of my life to drumming and really take it to the next level.

---------____----------

I played my first ever "gig" the other night at a small bar, playing for about 7 people and we got paid in pizza and beer. We did 5 songs... it was terrible and terrifying, mostly because we'd never practiced together, the guitarist would change the rhythm and the song would fall apart because I had no idea it was coming and couldn't adapt. 2 songs were pretty good, 1 was okay, 2 were embarrassingly terrible, all 5 needed work.

(I can chalk some of it up to playing on my friends ekit, and it sounds awful. The volume of everything is so messed up, the toms sound are so loud with a soft hit and I was so hesitant to play them. I would've been so much more comfortable on mine. Then when they're doing a sound check on the guitars, the bar owner comes up and says "get playing, don't play too loud, turn it down. it sounds like you're practicing. Start playing". It made me so nervous. People said we sounded like we just met, everything was too quiet.)

We took a break and played 6 more songs, this time I played the djembe... it was the most fun I've had in a long time. It was awesome, it sounded really, really good, the bar started to fill up, we were getting tips on the stage.