Saying hello from Toronto!

beatdat

Hi everyone,

Been lurking here for some time now, and recently joined up.

A little about me...

Like some of you, I went back to playing drums after a long hiatus. I'm 47 years old now, and I stopped playing drums when I was about 35 years old.

I started studying classical piano when I was about six years old. In my early teens, I started playing percussion and played in the school's bands throughout high school. In my early twenties to early thirties, I played drums in a few original bands. In the last band I was in, which was about 10 years ago, I played organ and keys. When that band broke up, I gave up on music all together.

That changed about a year and a half ago when a new friend of mine told me he played bass guitar and was looking to start a band. Even though I hadn't touched a drumstick in over ten years, he insisted that we find a guitar player and singer. So we did.

I now play with these guys in a three piece band consisting of bass, drums and guitar. Our bass player and guitar player both sing and write the music, some of the songs individually and some of the songs collaboratively. Our music is all original. Our sound is predominantly rock 'n roll, but we try to break the waves, so to speak, by incorporating on occasion a swing, shuffle, funk or Latin feel in some of our songs. Aside from playing drums in this band, I also have the unofficial "veto" say - if I don't like a song or don't think it's working, we don't play it! So far, it's been a blast!

Earlier this year, I decided to take practicing seriously, and for the last couple of months have dedicated a few hours a day around five times a week doing so.

I could go on talking about music, drumming, drummers, drums and what not, but I think I'll leave it at this and save my other thoughts for another thread.

Looking forward to contributing what I can and learning from all of you.

Thanks for having me.

Welcome aboard!