Sabian B8 Pro 20" Ride Cymbal

Luke F

Hi! I’m new to this forum! I have been playing drums for 3 years and am looking to upgrade my cymbals. I have found somebody selling a second hand Sabian B8 Pro 20” ride and I am interested in buying it, however I can’t find much about them online. Im tempted to buy it anyway, but I figured I’d ask the experts first, I play a lot of rock/grunge music (lots of nirvana!) and I’m not sure if this cymbal would suit my genre. Any advice?

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
I have a 20" Sabian Pro ride. Not exactly the same, but close enough. Its pingy, like super pingy. The cymbal is heavy and does not wash at all. It's pretty much a one trick pony. Hit the bell, ping. Hit the bow, ping. Hit the edge, ping. Throw it down a flight of stairs, ping ping ping ping ping. It's a very pretty, bright, glassy, rather loud ping. There is nothing unpleasant about it at all. But that HAS to be the sound you want, it makes no other sounds regardless of how you hit it.

Mine is a left ride. It is not my main ride by a damn sight. I do really like it however.

Before you buy it, make sure you like how it sounds because that's the only sound its gonna make. How much is the seller asking?

Drumolator

Platinum Member
I bought and used a B8 Pro Ride several years ago in a blues band. Nobody said anything about the sound, and they would have if they did not like it. Peace and goodwill.

JaysonJeanChannel

I had one for almost two years. It did the job. It's a alright ride, but it's not a good crash at all if you're looking for a crashable ride. Very pingy though.

Hewitt2

I really liked the B8 Pro line. They're glassy and bright and sound great in a rock setting. I think the ride cymbal on a lot of Pearl Jam's first album was a B8 Pro...

Not to hijack the thread but this didn’t sit right with me. This is what Dave Krusen said he used on that first album: