Rudiments in daily practice or something else?

JJKK

I established a daily practice routine, but I'm not using rudiments most of the time. My hand technique is limited to single and double stroke rolls at the moment.

I'm focusing on bass drum control for both feet and building up my hand technique and endurance for blast beat practice and playing death metal and similar stuff eventually. I can play slower beats (hardcore and slower heavy stuff) and speed up to 150-160 bpm for a few minutes, sometimes over 200 bpm if you count short blasts and double bass parts. I always use a click when practicing.

I'm ten months into regular daily practice (I think) and I'm fairly green in learning sheet music and such things. I can read sheets enough to understand what I should do with it (bought the Roddy book on blast beats).

I'm self taught if you don't count the youtube stuff you can find online.

So, I see the Stick Control book mentioned many times here and elsewhere. What does it teach a beginner to do? Is it purely a book on rudiments and hand technique and would I benefit from it?

Stick Control is intially a collection of sticking exercises and some other things.

It starts with singles:

RLRL
LRLR

Doubles:

RRLL

LLRR

Pardiddles:

RLRR LRLL

LRRL RLLR

RRLR LLRL

RLRL LRLR

It the continues with combos of these and more and then different subdivisions.

Originally intenden to be just played in one dynamic to help your "stick control" hence the name. Stone as another book called Accents and Rebounds that's dort of the next level and the Joe Morello wrote Master Studies I and II as a continuation of that.

People use this book in many ways, though. Just like Syncopation or any reading page it can be interpreted in a myriad of way both for hands, feet, combination of both and groove application. For some insight, do a youtube search on "Matt Patella Stick Control."