Rivet Buzz

Flareless

My 13" Gretsch Renown Maple has a buzz. Specifically the rivet on the badge makes a tiny, yet maddeningly audible buzzing noise when I strike the tom. Has anyone experienced this? Any idea on how to resolve it?

Attachments

T-rex

I am sure someone more knowledgeable than me will post on here but here is what I would try if I had a loose rivet:

Take a bolt small enough to go through the hole with two washers slightly bigger than the rivet.
Take a head off the drum and put the bolt through the hole with one washer on each side of the rivet.
Gently and slowly tightly up a nut till the washers squeeze the rivet down a bit to tighten it so it doesn't rattle. The rivet is just pressed in there on both sides of the hole correct?
When you back off the nut and take the bolt out, the rivet should be snugged down again with no rattle.

I have no experience doing this so be cautious, but that is what I would do if I had that issue.

Last edited:

Flareless

Thanks for the replies everyone. I sent an email to the shop where I purchased the drums to see what they think. Unfortunately I live 100 miles away so popping by with the drum is no easy feat. My sales rep suggested the following;

1- Take the bottom head off the drum and check all the screws holding in each lug. There are 20 screws in total inside that drum. So one could be loose. They take a Phillips head screw driver.

2 - While you have the bottom head off, check the grommet that holds the badge in place. Maybe the back part of it has come loose.

3- check the drum key screws on your memory lock that holds the drum in place on your double tom stand.

4- If all of the above does not work, try a complete re tuning of the drum. Top and bottom heads. Put the drum back on the stand, give it a hit and see if the undesired noise is still there.

5- I know it sounds silly but also make sure the tom is not bumping anything. Touching the snare ore the bass drum.