Rhythm section practice – a good way to improve the band’s time

WaitForItDrummer

‘SO’, there have been some issues / discussions in the band I’m in about tempo and time for our songs (originals): are we playing them too slow or too fast, who is speeding up where, etc… that sort of thing. Also, it seemed to me that the band’s time and coherence as a whole could have used some improving. (I’m working on improving my time, too).

So the bass player and I started practicing together once a week to a metronome. Nothing fancy, just run through the songs at a set tempo. We very quickly identified some of the the timing issues (speeding up at transitions, etc..) and were able to get them right pretty quickly, usually at the second go.

After just a few weeks of this, it’s amazing what a difference it made when we rehearse with the whole band together (add lead guitar and singer) – it helped us identify further issues, like the 'temptation' to slow down during a guitar solo, etc. The whole band sounds a lot tighter and together, which is a really good feel.

Not to mention I really like the sound of just bass and drums… but that’s a different story.

So, just wanted to share this as a good way to improve a band’s time pretty quickly and in a positive way, free from the usual blame game of whose fault it is, etc…

Does anyone have other good stories about simple things you’ve done in a band to overcome a particular issue?

Last edited:

uniongoon

Gold Member
Over the course of 30+ years of live gigging I have done this, but more often than not, other people were not as committed as myself and it either would happen once or twice or not at all. Easier while on the road steady, cause then we are all prisoners with less ways to escape.

Good for you for recognizing the need and acting on it.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"