Review request: right hand ride playing

frank0072

Gold Member
Hi everyone!

long time since I posted something because I've been rediculously busy with a lot of things (including becoming a father). But since you have always provided me with the best advise I come to you with my current challenge.

I've been playing in a hardcore band for a year and in 3 months we have planned to record. For the record I have play stuff at 210bpm and 220bpm. This is a challenge on the hats already, but I can manage. On the ride though, I cannot seem te play 8th notes for a longer period.

Could you please take a look at the video I made demonstrating my hihat and ride technique at 210bpm? I'm curious if I just need to spend more time playing like this, and that it will come in time or maybe I'm doing something totally wrong...

The video

Thanks a lot in advance!

your technique looks ok to me......

heres what I used to do when playing that style and started feeling fatigued

I would play.....say were counting in 8ths.....instead of playing

1 + 2 + 3 + 4 +

the whole time

every once and a while I would just do

1 + 2 3 + 4

leaving out the and of 2 and 4

its a tiny little break but makes a huge difference when fatigued and sounds virtually no different

Disclaimer: I'm no teacher so I'm going to do is spit out some info I garnered from the web, various technique DVD's I saw and my own teacher.

Your technique looks fine. Nice and loose grip. What I don't get is why you do manage those high tempos on the hats and not on the ride. The movements are near identical as far as I can tell (though your left hand is obstructing a good view of your right). Perhaps you put a bit more wrist action into the pattern when playing on the hats.

It would really help if you gave a video of just your ride hand playing 8ths.