Reprogramming foot motion - help

schist

Silver Member
Any advice for reprogramming motions? I've somehow largely lost the ability to play slow double bass because I've gotten into the (bad) habit of using too much ankle in my right foot, and as a result it speeds up and loses control. I've been taking to playing continuous 16ths with my feet @ 100-120bpm for about 20-30 minutes just to get the correct motion going again, anyone have any other suggestions?

Keep in mind that my left foot does not have this problem, and tempos from 180+ are fine, it's just my right foot from around 120-170ish

schist

Silver Member
I noticed that it only really happens when I'm playing consecutive notes at a medium dynamic, so I started playing 16ths at 110 at a low/medium dynamic heel-up for 20 minutes, see how that goes ...

Servant

This happened to me as well. What i did was the exact same thing that you're already doing, continuos 16th at 60 through 80 bpm range, focusing on using the leg and not the ankle. I think you're already on the right track.

schist

Silver Member
This happened to me as well. What i did was the exact same thing that you're already doing, continuos 16th at 60 through 80 bpm range, focusing on using the leg and not the ankle. I think you're already on the right track.
So you reckon even slower than I am currently doing?

And that worked for you?

Servant

Yeah, because leg/leg+ankle motion happens in that range. From 90/95 bpm and up, i start using ankle and i think it's pretty normal. It has worked for me, I use different motions for different speeds correctly now. But it doesn't mean it may work for you as well...

schist

Silver Member
Yeah, because leg/leg+ankle motion happens in that range. From 90/95 bpm and up, i start using ankle and i think it's pretty normal. It has worked for me, I use different motions for different speeds correctly now. But it doesn't mean it may work for you as well...