Regarding the use of metronome.

Chinmay147

Hello everyone! Thanks for your help with my earlier snare drum issue. I'm a beginner drummer, as you all know. I've been trying to practice 5 stroke roll. But now this is a odd sounding rudiment and thus I'm unsure of how do I use my metronome for practicing it. Should I use quarter, eighth or sixteenth notes for practicing it? Please help. Warm regards!

Does this video help?
It might help to play Singles first:
Code:
1+2+3+4+
RLR LRL
Then you can switch between that and the 5 stroke roll with doubles:
Code:
1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a
RRLLR   LLRRL
As you're just learning it, I'd try all three metronome settings as you'll stay slow and want to pay attention to the placement of the second strokes of the doubles. Also start with the left hand!
Another helpful variation would be dotted quarter notes:
Code:
1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a...
R LLRRL RRLLR LLRRL RRLLR LLRRL ...
That should prepare you for triplets which you could practice with this piece (doubles for unaccented notes): http://www.cruiseshipdrummer.com/2017/06/three-camps-isolated-parts-and-complete.html

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
I use quarter note. That's all I ever set the metronome to. I'll use half note if the song is in 3. I find it easier to listen to the least amount of beeps possible. I cant imagine trying to play a five stroke roll with 16 beeps going on.

Chinmay147

Does this video help?
It might help to play Singles first:
Code:
1+2+3+4+
RLR LRL
Then you can switch between that and the 5 stroke roll with doubles:
Code:
1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a
RRLLR   LLRRL
As you're just learning it, I'd try all three metronome settings as you'll stay slow and want to pay attention to the placement of the second strokes of the doubles. Also start with the left hand!
Another helpful variation would be dotted quarter notes:
Code:
1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a1e+a2e+a3e+a4e+a...
R LLRRL RRLLR LLRRL RRLLR LLRRL ...