Regarding base drum exercises.

Chinmay147

Hello everyone. I had a question for which I need help. I'm a beginner and thus while practicing the basic rock beat and it's variations on the kit my timing with hands is okay, but my kicks are just here and there. Please suggest me any good exercises to improve my kick drum timing. Thanks and regards.

C.M. Jones

The previous posts are right on target. Command of the bass pedal will flourish with normal practice, but it won't happen overnight. For now, focus on feel and timing, and don't be ashamed to limit yourself to very basic patterns for a while. Attempting more than you're prepared for will only lead to discouragement.

johnwesley

Silver Member
Paradiddles. Alternating triplets from left to right foot (if using double peddles). Also works if using hi hat. Basically the same exercises you do with hands can be done on your kick.

Alain Rieder

Silver Member
Build your bass drum technique with the help of my Time Manipulation drum book.

Xstr8edgtnrdrmrX

The previous posts are right on target. Command of the bass pedal will flourish with normal practice, but it won't happen overnight. For now, focus on feel and timing, and don't be ashamed to limit yourself to very basic patterns for a while. Attempting more than you're prepared for will only lead to discouragement.
sooo much this! Your feet are the foundation of groove. That and counting the subdivisions of the pulse while you play. I always tell my beginning set drummers that your feet are your soul....actually, I tell that to my marching drummers as well, bc it is true there too...

the busiest bass drum patterns will not work if the simplest ones don't either!!!

Justinhub2003

Maybe look at finding a cheap bass drum practice pad.

I find that I do better and focus more when I sitting behind my “practice” station. Which is a a kick drum connected to practice pad, a snare with a pad on it and a throne,