Recorded drums on a friends' tune.

simmsdn

Silver Member
Not really a drum cover since it's an original song that I recorded for some peeps. I'm playing bass on this as well.

I recorded it in 1080p, but my internet connection sucks (I live in Alabama now) and it would take a week to upload. This is my first attempt at combined video and audio into a product (I spent all my money on recording gear and golf clubs so I used Windows Movie Maker).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc8YIm0-WPY

Band is Awakened Soul. http://www.reverbnation.com/awakenedsoul

Drums are late-1970s Ludwig Classics (22/13/16/18 & LM402)
Cymbals are mostly Zildjian (13" K/Z, 20" A Custom Ping, 14/17/18 A Custom Crashes, 18" Armand Crash). Splashes and China are Wuhan (8/8/10 splashes, 19" China).
Mics are Sennheiser e602 (on Kelly Shu), Sennheiser e604, Shure SM57, and Shure PG81.

flicky

Pretty cool. I like when the singer doubles up on the vocals. What software are you running? Are the hats mic'd? Like to hear a better copy.

simmsdn

Silver Member
Pretty cool. I like when the singer doubles up on the vocals. What software are you running? Are the hats mic'd? Like to hear a better copy.

I'm running Sonar 8.3. Guitarist/songwriter is using a Fostex all-in-one system on his end. The guitars are vocals aren't the highest quality because of it, but it's good enough. It's equal to studio quality from 20 years ago, so I can live with it.

Hats aren't mic'd up. I've mic'd them before...I still could if I wanted to or really needed to. I keep the overhead condensers pretty low, on my left, the mic is about 3' higher than it would be if it were just on the hats so it also gets the crashes and splashes on that side.

Sound quality is a little poor here...wav to mp3, then added to video and compressed several times prior to upload.

Coldhardsteel

Gold Member