"Re-learning"

jayblazeff

I've been playing drums for about 20 years, and except for what i learned in school (concert band, marching band, jazz band 6th-12th grades), i've never had lessons. I havent been playing much the last few years and i want to get back into drumming. because of my work schedule and hours (i split nights and days, so does the wife), it's difficult to play the kit on a routine like i used to, so i'm going to work just on a pad as much as possible. So i kind of feel like i'm starting from scratch, going back to the basics. This time around, i want to focus more on things like technique and phrasing instead of just "playing". i've gotten some good tips from lurking around the threads here and i have a few questions about practicing.

1. should i just practice on a pad for awhile until i get the rudiments down solid, or should i continue to just "jam" on the kit, applying as i go ? (i know this is probably much debated)

2. i've been working on rudiments, but i'm having a hard time with the accents. is it okay to get the sticking down first then go back and work on the accents ? or should i just play super slow and hammer it out with the accents ?

3. is it a good idea to work on hand techique then work on the feet later, or should i focus on both at the same time ?

4. what is a good book for technique ? i'm thinking "stick control for the snare drummer" that i saw in another thread would be a great start ?

CavGator

Stick Control for the Snare Drummer is the Bible. That said, it is like martial arts. It is designed to build muscle memory. It is a S-L-O-O-O-O-W process, that may take months, years, or a lifetime to fortify.

If you do exactly what they say, you WILL have awesome technique. Some say to simply devote your life to the first page, VERY gradually increasing tempo. In a couple of years, you will be EXTREMELY proficient in the fundamentals.

Wax on.....Wax off.

Forever...

jeffwj

Platinum Member