Prologix ThunderKick unboxing and review... and other Prologix products

WhoIsTony?

I've been using Prologix products for about 10 years.
I believe they are among the best practice products made ... if the THE best.
Here is a look at their bass drum practice pad the "ThunderKick"... which is leaps and bounds better than any other bass drum practice pad on the market.
Jason Edwards and his team at Prologix Percussion consistently put out extremely high quality, solidly constructed products.
If you haven't used their product I highly recommend you checking them out.

I am in no way associated with the company other than a user of their product

please move this to where it should be if it is in the wrong section

I'm really liking the look of the build on those pieces.

Although I've never used one, I can't help thinking the arc of the reverse orientated beater would differ in feel to the arc in the standard drum playing position, simply on the basis of weight trajectory - mass start / finish position. Is that something you experience, or is it so minor as to be a non issue?

I won't speak for Tony (ironically we share the same name....lol), but...

That design is the same as Roland used for it's KD-7 bass drum trigger.

I used one for about two years, and "yes" it had a different feel (at least to me and my foot) than a standard pedal setup.

For me, it was quicker and hit harder, with a shorter overall stroke. Which means it took less effort to get the same-or usually better results. Nice sharp, consistent hits, double and triples etc.

NOW, having said that.... The changeable insert will negate some of that advantage as the Roland had a hard rubber "bumper" vs a soft pad that will absorb some of the energy.

The good news is after a few minutes (ok, maybe a few more than a few) on a standard pedal your foot will translate and adjust those micro-movements to the slightly different feel and you'll be off to the races again.