Practising with a metronome.

Bonzodownunder

I've ALLWAYS had problems with playing to &in&with various tempos during my drumming years.Even now as i'm learning NEW original material&having difficulties&trouble both keeping&playing along to&in time.NONE of my previous drum teachers mentioned nor made me practice along to&with one.SO for a complete beginner&novice as far as working with a metronome WHAT are the BEST way to practice with one interms of excercises?,
How when practising do i know i'm in time with&playing along with it&how do i know when i'm NOT?.

Last edited:

yesdog

Silver Member
I would start by tapping along with it on a table or even tap on your leg. I always subdivide at slow tempos. If you are playing at 60bpm count out loud 1e+ah 2e+ah and so on while tapping along with the click. At faster tempos say 80bpm and up, start counting 1+ 2+ 3+ 4+while tapping along with the metronome. Another good exercise is play on a pad and set the tempo between 60 and 100bpm, go from quarter notes to eighth notes to sixteenth notes, and count out loud. Mostly everything played to a click is a drum beat, the hi hat or said constant in the drum beat is usually subdivided. Thats why I mentioned the above exercises. As far as playing to a click with a band, you will find out real fast if the band is actually following you or just trying to find there own tempo, which makes it very difficult to keep with the click, and everything sounds out of sync. If the band is playing together as a unit the click should not be an issue. Thats my take on it for learning how to play with a click. Like anything else, it takes time and practice. Im quite certain there will be better answers to your question on this thread.

The Black Page Dude

Honestly there is no "best" way start .. the point to a metronome is to learn to play to a device that plays perfect metric time, thusly teaching you how to develop an internal meter.