Practicing w/ V Drums

frying pan

Hello,

I haven't really played for a few years now, but just sat down behind a set of V Drums this afternoon and they were awesome! I'm seriously considering taking the plunge.

I have a question for anyone who has experience playing one of these. How easy is it to play along with recordings i.e.; mp3's?

I see that they must be wave files, pardon my unsaviness, but is it easy to put the files from my mp3 player into the drum kit?

How's the mix when playing along to mp3's? Is it any good? Is the sound quality good enough to get productive practice time out of it?

I have no experience with one of these machines, so any light that could be shed on this matter is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Here is a story that captures my feelings about electronic drums. I was in the local drum shop a few months ago, and another customer was playing different acoustic kits, trying to decide which one to buy. The guy's playing intrigued me, because he clearly was not a total beginner and could get around the kit pretty well with fills, solos, etc. However, on each kit, he sounded horrible. Just horrible tone and touch. It turned out that he had been playing a while and was even in a band. But up to that point, he had only played electronic drums. The lesson I draw from this is that touch and tone are crucial (to acoustic drums at least), and cannot be developed on an electronic kit. Of course, electronic kits are interesting and fun, but I don't think that they are a good idea for learning to play acoustic drums. They are sort of like another instrument entirely, and I don't mean that as a put-down.

Yes, but it feels like a put down. And is one example, as you have experienced, adequate to generalise?

Anyway frying pan you get a lot of e-kit bashers around here. It's part of the fabric of the drum community. Welcome.