PRACTICE- SONGS VS. EXERCISES

53Rockets

Hey all, I've been drumming for just over a year.
The best money i've spent on drums has been on my teacher. Weekly lessons have made a huge difference. I just had the opportunity to play with a guitar player for the first time and it makes the need to have some songs/structure down. As far as practice goes, how much time would you keep devoting to exercises/basics/technique vs. playing along with songs?
As a beginner, i know both are necessary, but i definitely think i need a few songs solidly under my belt if i'm going to be able to meet and play with other musicians, which is my goal as opposed to being a solo 'basement drummer'.

AzHeat

Platinum Member
You need to be able to apply what you're learning and have it make sense to you. Example being, you work on this cool groove or fill, but can't figure out where or how to use it. You can either try and shove it in somewhere, then discover that was a bad idea, or you can play to music and figure out there's a type o flare to making things fit, you just don't get by sitting and practicing patterns only. To give one of my own examples, I've really been working hard on independence and more complex patters, jazz, bosa nova. etc. Got the patterns down at the speed I was supposed to, played then naturally, then happened to find some drumless tracks on Spotify and the whole exercise was very humbling. It don't fit and has no flow is all I could think of. Patterns were correct, flow was correct, but no feel and no soul.

Feel and souls is something you don't get from books, videos, or live lessons. That part takes playing along to music and figuring out. The genre doesn't matter and complexity doesn't matter. Feel has to come from within. Besides, it's way more satisfying than just playing beats and patterns. Music makes it real. That is after all, what we're trying to do isn't it?

jimb