Ply Drums Glue?

paradiddle pete

Platinum Member
Been pondering the use of glue in Ply drums, I'm no expert on lay ups or building techniques so ill leave all that alone. The Experts can chime in on that if they wish.. It seems in the Guitar world at least the use of Animal Hide Glue is Touted as Vintage correct and Acoustically helpful .. Wondering if a quality wood ply lay up used these glues if anyone would think it will make a positive difference? Can of Worms Opened..

GetAgrippa

Platinum Member
SONOR states they have a proprietary glue used to make their shells-seems I recollect from a video of their factory. I think Tama also has a proprietary glue as does Pearl. I'm curious of Keller shells but everyone seems tight lipped with the glue??

IBitePrettyHard

SONOR states they have a proprietary glue used to make their shells-seems I recollect from a video of their factory. I think Tama also has a proprietary glue as does Pearl. I'm curious of Keller shells but everyone seems tight lipped with the glue??

The "proprietary" glue.

vhVvbjq.png

paradiddle pete

Platinum Member
no t afraid to ask. I recall solid body guitar construction * ( Gibson ) 50s used Hide Glue and Formaldahyde I think. The Gurus seem to think this was part of the Magic Formula.. So what is the Magic Formula for Drums? Seems the same attributes would apply to drums as an acoustic instrument.. Seems like the Ply tribe like to dismiss the construction methods of solid shell but fail to own up on ply construction.. Wonder what a Solid Shell Brazilian Rosewood Drum would sound like..

GetAgrippa

Platinum Member
So I gather older glues were urea or resorcinol /formaldehyde based glues in drums and now polyvinyl acetate can be used? I presume the glue just doesn’t hold wood together but enters pores and bonds wood?

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member