Playing with two drummers

Zero Mercury Drummer

Have you ever done this? It's a lot of fun, but can be tricky. The hardest part is doing fills that don't conflict. And obviously you have to play in time or the snare starts "flamming" pretty quick.

It takes a special ear also. Obviously you have to listen closely. It can be a lot of fun.
I am getting ready to join an instrumental side project with two bassists and two drummers! The other guy will be the more rhythm section I hear, while I'll be laying down electronic percussion and other insanity.

boltzmann's brain

i've done it in two bands. the first was with another trained drummer, who also had big ears, and it was a BLAST. we worked out all kinds interesting counter rhythms and things. it was REALLY fun. it didn't hurt that he was my best buddy. i did it again just recently with a self taught drummer who didn't listen, and that was NOT fun. i ended up just following him, and doing damage control. with the right drummers, it can be very cool. find someone who has bombproof groove, and is open minded.

TTNW

Pioneer Member
I just did this last weekend. We did a bunch of Allman Brothers and Doobie Brothers songs that worked well with two drummers.

The easy approach is to have one drummer just laying down the beat and the other drummer keeps the beat too but handles fills and accents. Matching up the snares is key. Also, it sounds good to alternate hats and ride play. When he was on the hats, I would move to the ride and vice a versa.

As the night wore on we got better and better at keeping complimentary rhythms going and not flamming.

Big ears are paramount. When it's good it really sounds great but overplaying can turn it into a big mess quickly. It's also good to know when to sit out. Most songs just don't work with two drummers.

Midnite Zephyr

Platinum Member