Playing to a click track

joerockhed

I've been playing drums for a long time, however in all these years, i've never once played to a click track/metronome. Were recording a 14 song cd, the singer who is also the guitarist, has played professionally for about 30 years. The bass player and I have never used a click track before so he was trying to avoid using one.....but we are. I'm having nightmares with it! Is there anyone who can give me some advice on how to adapt to playing to a click track. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

zambizzi

Platinum Member
I've been playing drums for a long time, however in all these years, i've never once played to a click track/metronome. Were recording a 14 song cd, the singer who is also the guitarist, has played professionally for about 30 years. The bass player and I have never used a click track before so he was trying to avoid using one.....but we are. I'm having nightmares with it! Is there anyone who can give me some advice on how to adapt to playing to a click track. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Sounds like it's just going to require a bit of practice to get comfortable with it. Maybe you and the bassist could practice together, without the rest of the band? I'm playing w/ a bassist now that has a "funny" sense of time. We did this a few times, away from the rest of the guys...and we're playing tighter now, for sure.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
You have to mentally accept that you're no longer the time keeper, and that the other players won't simply follow whatever you do. That is, you have to accept that there's another timekeeper, and you have to follow it.

As Zambizzi said, it's a matter of practice, but mostly you'll need to focus on following rather than leading.