Playing drums without a band: what keeps you motivated?

eric_B

There are similar threads but with a different take, so:

Short history: I started playing drums in 2008 (age 35) and joined a band 2 years later.
We worked hard on improving, started gigging and then the band fell apart in September 2012.
The next couple of years I tried joining a couple of other bands but they all weren't a good fit for me.
As joining a band is not so easy in my area I kind of gave up and started playing less and less.
If I would feel like playing, it started to sound like crap - because I hardly played - and it would discourage me even more from playing.
A vicious circle and last half decade I hardly played at all.

FF January 2024: late at night, for some reason, I decided to look at the national musicians/bands-looking-for-musicians/bands site and now I'm in a band again.
A nice group of pretty skilled people without egos and cool to hang out with.
So now I am enjoying playing / working on nailing the bands setlist / working on technique, we already have some gigs coming up and overall am happy to be playing drums again.

So, to me, apparently there has to be a goal: playing with a band / working towards the next rehearsal and gigs / etc.
Playing for myself just doesn't cut it for me anymore.

So what keeps you motivated?

Last edited:
not being able to play certain songs/passages....so i learn them

and also the fact that drumming has always been my absolute passion. I am always practicing, whether it is drum set, or just sticks and a pad, my hands are moving all the time. It is a true addiction. I don't need to be in a band to want to play, even though I have been in 4 for the past 10 years or so

I didn't stay motivated.
Quitting for 15 years was partially a defense against people that I didn't want work in bands with anymore who might ask. Then there was a bad relationship which drove me to focus on work and believe this, a cat that couldn't cope with the noise.