Playing at your own wedding - Lessons learned!

Diet Kirk

Silver Member
For my wedding this past October, I booked an exceptionally talented New Orleans style brass band for something a little bit different (Different that is to folks in the UK in terms of wedding bands!)

I chatted a lot with the band leader and mentioned that I was a drummer (not on purpose honest, just trying to identify oneself as a fellow musician).

He straight away suggested I sit in on a song with them. We picked Trombone Shorty's Hurricane Season. Nice and simple and has a good groove.

The week before the wedding I managed to grab a practice room for 3 hours and rehearsed the song. By the end I had it down to the point where I could throw in some exagerrated arm movements and have some fun with it.

Cut to the day. I am handed some sticks by the bands drummer, who I thanked immensly for indulging me. Sat at the drums. Brilliant I thought, everything looks to be in comfortable places. A nice win right there.

The Sousa player counts us in and right off I second guess where the beginning comes in because I got cocky with the arm movements! whoops. But no matter. Here comes the groove.

First attempt at a back beat and I get nothing but rim. Oh.... Second attempt....rim. Dammit, the snare was about 1" higher than I would have had it. From there on I'm running scared, its my wedding day and I can't mess this up, so I have to just get through it and hope that I groove enough to make it sound cool! All of the hopes of really letting rip are gone lol.

Half way through, we get to my favourite bit. The middle 8 of this track is tasty and I was really looking forward to it. Over email the band leader had asked if I wanted a solo, to which I replied, no no, I'd rather just play with you guys, thats one element I'm not bothered about.

Yep you guessed it, he suddenly yells solo right at the start of the middle 8 and they all drop out!