Picking between 2 Paiste Crashes

RaxCity

Hey Drummerworld. I'm pretty new to Paiste, having only used a couple of their cymbals, and I've got a good deal on two really nice crashes that I can't really pick between. Both cost $450NZD, which is about $200 off, a pretty good saving in my opinion.

The two cymbals I am picking between are:

Paiste Signature 18" Fast Crash
Paiste 602 18" Thin Crash

They sound pretty similar to me, and I'm having a hard time picking between them as they are both pretty much the cymbal sound I have in mind. Does anyone have any thoughts, opinions or advice that can sway me towards one of these cymbals? Thanks everybody!

toddbishop

Platinum Member
Personally I'd buy the 602. To me the Signature cymbals all feel like they're designed for 80s power drumming. The 602 is a normal cymbal that will sound great in a variety of settings.

taiko

Joking aside, I have a 602 18" paper thin crash that is the best sounding crash I've ever owned. I would also vote for the 602, assuming you like the sound of both. There is also the question of what sort of music you play. In the end, I think you just have to listen to both a lot and pull the trigger on the one you lean towards.

cbphoto

Gold Member
I vote for the Sig Fast Crash. I have three of them. They are thin/light so there are lower frequency harmonics in their sound that is wonderful. If you record and play them with a medium to medium-light force the decay is beautiful.

RaxCity

I've been listening to these two crashes for ages now, and I'm honestly finding it so hard to decide, but I think I'm leaning slightly more towards the 602, just because it seems a bit better at lower volumes. Does anyone have anymore advice about these cymbals, experience with them, durability etc?

ineedaclutch

Platinum Member