Pearl Session Custom (Maple) vs Tama Starclassic (Birch)

chris3630

Hello all,
Just looking for some advice here.
I am currently an intermediate drummer.
I have the choice to get either set and I am curious what some of you guys would go with and why?
I know that it varies on what style of music and sound you prefer, but Id like to hear what you guys would do and use that as reference for my decision.
Thanks a ton if you reply and best regards,

opentune

Platinum Member
Personally I would almost always pick maple over birch. But I don't care for the Pearl tom mounting system.
If I had to pick in this case, likely the Tama.
My advice is go with your own ears and heart.

cbphoto

Gold Member
I’m in agreement with @opentune. When I was shopping, the Tama Starcast mount system was what sold me on them. Their other hardware is very well designed too. Both companies make very fine shells.

harryconway

Platinum Member
Pearl Sessions Maple, for me. Damn the hardware. I use Yamaha stuff, anyways. If I can't live with the Pearl (or Tama) suspension mounts, I RIMS mount the toms and away I go.

I have both maple and birch drums (and I plan on keeping it that way) ..... but ...... if I had to go with just one, it would be maple.

Winston_Wolf

Platinum Member
It would come down to drum sizes and configuration first, and finishes a distant second for me. They're both well made drums from great companies but practical considerations come way before brand and even wood type in my opinion.

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
I'd love to hear a Starclassic birch in person.

If I was playing my normal set-up (one up, one down), I'd choose the Pearl by default because they make good stuff, and I always mount my rack tom on a snare stand.

gdmoore28

Gold Member