Overplaying

Nitemare

Hey everyone!

So i come from the self-taught school of Brann Dailor, Thomas Pridgen, Jon Theodore, Chris Pennie, Thomas Lang,and Martin Lopez (Opeth oh yeah!!) and my style has evolved to combine, in all essence, a combo of Pridgen, Dailor, Lang, and Lopez. Ive heard my style called overplaying (even my solos. isnt that odd?), but my band doesnt mind. I dont even hit hard! Just want everyone opinion on "overplaying".

Thanks!

bobdadruma

Platinum Member
It entirely depends on the music.
Play what fits.
If the song calls for a groove and simple fills than that is what you should play.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Overplaying is relative to what you're accompanying. What is deemed to be overplaying in one instance could well be par for the course in another. Pridgen's work fits well with TMV, but it wouldn't work with The Rolling Stones....as always, context is everything.

I'd need to hear you playing with your band before I could offer any insight as to whether I thought you were overplaying.

Duckenheimer

There is nothing worse than a busy drummer who does not have great phrasing, time, musical sensibilities, hearing skills and technique, and this pitfall is a very common one for drummers.

But if these elements are in place, that can be fantastic. Just look at the drummers you mentioned. It comes down to a million factors and context. I don't know all of those drummers but Pennie and Lang have an inspiringly mindblowing control over their facilities. And Lang still played simple when needed (see all the pop acts he worked with).