Other musicians' view of drums.

AZslim

All,

Funny story. Last week my band was rehearsing a song that has a part where everybody except the drums drops out. The guitarist wanted to go over "the part where all the instruments drop out" I had to think a second because I couldn't remember any part where we all stop playing. Then it hit me. I pointed to my drums and gently reminded him that this IS an instrument.

Hollywood Jim

Platinum Member
Good story. And very true.

"I'm a musician"

"Really, what instrument do you play?"

"I play the drums"

"Oh OK .................."

groove1

Silver Member
Ditto's Too True.
What do you call someone who likes to hang out with musicians....(never mind).

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
If the guitarist would have said he wanted to go over the part in the song where all the pitched instruments drop out....

In a way, drums are in a class all by themselves. Physically, they have very little in common with other musical instruments.

AZslim

If the guitarist would have said he wanted to go over the part in the song where all the pitched instruments drop out....

In a way, drums are in a class all by themselves. Physically, they have very little in common with other musical instruments.
i didn't mean to imply it was a bad scene. There was good natured ribbing following.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
Oh I get it, just a revealing little slip. I honestly don't know what the others really make of drummers as a whole. The best musician I know, by his own admission, says that he has no idea what we do.

Anon La Ply

Renegade
From a tuned instrument point of view, if the drums are not doing anything wrong, they tend to treat the rhythmic basis of a tune as a given and then work on the challenges of coordinating with the other tuned instruments.