Original band collaboration tips?

We know you know, but I'll put it out there anyway: A quick search will reveal the thousands of drummers who provide recording services of their craft. Heck, why not hire this guy? Or this guy? ?

It would be a fun experiment to put together a pool of money and hire one of those guys and see if KamaK is satisfied with the result. I'm not saying it's the case here, but one can't dismiss the possibility that KamaK has unrealistic expectations. We can't really judge without hearing what his drummers are actually delivering.

The problem that I have with "me" writing the drum parts is that I still lack the ability to apply the vocabulary I've developed in a meaningful way. I can blaze the first pages of Stick Control on the practice pad, and I can work the patterns over a dozen different foot ostinati on the kit, but I have no experience putting any of it in a musical context. When I revisit the music of my formative years, I'm finally starting to here drummers using the rudiments creatively... But applying vocab in a clever/manner manner in my writing is something that seems a couple years out.

Here's what you do. Take your song one section at a time and loop it. Now just jam out on it. Use the loop as your click and start to learn to apply what you have already learned. Repatition is your friend as a writing drummer. If you just try to put down what you hear in your head you are missing the beauty of it. Let your mind and limbs wander. Get so lost in the loop you can shift it's feeling, make it feel like something else. That's where the magic lies. When you listen back you will have a whole myriad of grooves to choose from. And probably some things you didn't know you had in you.

Update.