Open Handed Playing

So I am a self taught player, and pretty much just picked up open handed playing just because it felt natural to me. Can anyone explain to me the benefits/problems with playing this way? Appreciate it. This community is awesome so far.

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
You don’t accidentally click your sticks together playing open-handed while you’re doing a backbeat. It’s also easier to go from one-handed hi-hat work to two-handed very quickly when you play open-handed.

Advantages of closed-handed are that your right hand can easily jump over to the toms for fills while your left hand stays on the snare. Also, your body has to twist away from the toms a little to play open-handed. Closed-handed doesn’t have that problem.

So it sounds to me like there's benefits to both. With that being said, I have heard that most drum instructors will prefer closed handed method. Just thought that was weird.

toddbishop

Platinum Member
There's no such thing as "closed handed" drumming, or "cross" handed drumming or whatever people call it-- that's just regular old right handed drumming where your right hand generally leads, and plays the ride rhythm. It happens that the hihat is usually on the left, so you have to cross over to ride on that.

I wrote an explanation of some of the issues involved with the open handed thing.

cbphoto

Gold Member
If you master the technique, you’ll be in with an elite group.

AFAIK, it all started when Lenny White, a lefty playing a right-handed setup, moved his ride cymbal to his left side. Then riding on the hats with his left hand came next.

Billy Cobham saw Lenny perform and realized its functionality (hands don’t cross over) and retrained in that method.

Simon Phillips saw Cobham and copied him. Simon also did it to lower his hats so his toms would look good/even.

Edit: Carter Beauford is another player who plays open-handed.

Odd-Arne Oseberg

Platinum Member