noob--floor tom Question

mxo721

I've been very patient and methotical in learing to play drums, started out just hihats and snare, then added bass, then thr rack tom. I have a really hard time when using the floor tom in fills, of getting back to the hihat in time to get back on the beat. it' just such a long distance away from the hihat. any tips as to how to practice getting onto and off the floor tom, smoothly ? remember I'm new to drumming. thanks

toddbishop

Platinum Member
Just move fast. It's really not that far. It will help if you isolate the move- practice the fill by itself (the whole thing or just last few notes on the FT), plus one hihat note at the end.

cp84

non standard sticking can also make things easier. if you start to learn your rudients then they can make it easier to move around the kit.

It could also mean that there is some configuration problems with your set up. But most likely you just need to practice . And possibly move the floor Tom closer to you.

daredrummer

Gold Member
It could also mean that there is some configuration problems with your set up. But most likely you just need to practice . And possibly move the floor Tom closer to you.
Agreed, if you have your setup right it shouldn't be too far.
If you're still really struggling, then end the fill with your right hand, and hit the hats with your left on the first hit. This is especially useful at fast tempos.

LukeSnyder

Gold Member
Generally speaking, after hitting the floor tom, hitting a crash on the 1 of the next measure is what normally takes place, you usually don't go straight back into a groove without playing an accent on the 1.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
Generally speaking, after hitting the floor tom, hitting a crash on the 1 of the next measure is what normally takes place, you usually don't go straight back into a groove without playing an accent on the 1.
Well, if you play general music, maybe that's the case most of the time ;)

bobdadruma

Platinum Member