No Nuts?

newoldie

Silver Member
Anyone tried these cymbal sleeves yet? They look like they'd get the job done well sonically, replace the usual cymbal stand accessories, and simplify setup/break down.
(OK, let the jokes fly if necessary. I didn't name them!;))

mikyok

Platinum Member
A guy I'm friends with on fb uses these.

I'm tempted, don't use top felts so these make sense

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
why are they saying no felt required... That's just weird. Cymbals sound better with a felt in there.

Also not since I was a beginner have I needed to use any top felts or wing nuts. If you're playing a cymbal in a normal way it's not going to fly off.

Lastly my cheap sleeves from Gibralter screw down onto the stand so that's nothing new.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I haven't used these but I'd try them. The only thing I'm not sure about is the height. I wonder if it's enough to keep them there in the wind.

They really shouldn't get in my way, but I wouldn't know until I gigged with them. I like how 100% of the bell is exposed. I use Cymbal Crowns which also take no lateral real estate. I like them but they break after a while. These don't look like they would break.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
I've tried them at a studio and at NAMM, and I have 2 sets but I haven't started to use them yet.

They can definitely be used without a felt, but you could easily put one on if there's a question about sound. It's unlikely that a cymbal, even a China at an angle, would work its way of the stem, which is pretty tall. I think it's a little too tall, and I may cut them down and inch or so. Then again, it's just a cosmetic thing, I'd be the only one who sees it.

Bermuda

Tommy_D

Platinum Member