New drummer - question about hi hat position

Voldemort

Hi everyone!

First off - this is an amazing forum and an awesome resource for drum-related information on the web.

I'm a fairly new drummer (only been playing for a year or so), and I have a quick question on hi-hat position relative to the drumkit. I've noticed on most educational and other videos by drummers here on Drummerworld as well as Youtube, that the majority of drummers play cross-handed, i.e. right hand playing the hi hat cross the left hand playing the snare (if you're right handed of course.)

I have found this crossing over of the hands a little uncomfortable, and my sticks tend to hit each other if I do some in-between strikes with the left hand on the snare while keeping the right hand going on the hi hat.

So what I started doing is to move my right hand more "forward" and away from my body, and bringing the snare a little closer so my hands no longer cross and this way I can play snare and hi hat independantly without the sticks constantly hitting each other.

Is this "ok" to do? Since I'm still fairly new to the drumset, I don't want to develop bad habits that will inhibit my drum playing later.

If you're uncertain what I mean exactly, on the Vic Firth educational site there is a video by Brian Ferguson titled "Setting up the set: basic considerations" in which he explains this hi hat position. Here is the link for anyone interested:

http://www.vicfirth.com/education/drumset/ferguson.html

Thanks so much!

V.

drumguyfromWI

there is no wrong or right way to set up your drum kit.

whatever feels good to you, go with that. after all, it's YOUR kit.

Bonz0

there is no wrong or right way to set up your drum kit.

whatever feels good to you, go with that. after all, it's YOUR kit.