New Cymbal Spinning on It's Own

Brandtwi

I just bought a new Zildjian K 22" Constantinople ride & a Zildjian 20" K Custom Left Hand ride. I put then on a cymbal stand with writing on the cymbal straight up, but they spin own their own until they get to where they want to be. Is this because they are hand made & maybe a little heavier on part of the cymbal that ends up on the bottom? My Zildjian A Series cymbals do not do this.

Soulfinger

Yup, the weight is distributed unevenly across the cymbal. Balance it on a fingertip and you will see.
My K Con does it too, but I have my cymbals rather flat so it is not as noticeable.
The worst cymbal in that regard I ever had was a Meinl Byzance Symmetry (!!!) ride. Didn´t live up to its name at all. :)

Winston_Wolf

Platinum Member
Pretty much all cymbals have their weight distributed somewhat unevenly, but some more than others. It does not seem to me that cymbal companies take that into consideration when they do the ink stamping.

I don't think a single one of my cymbals naturally sit with the logos facing up, but it only bothers me when ride cymbals want to put the biggest ink stamp right under where my stick falls so I end up putting black marks on my drumheads because of it.

Generally though, logo orientation doesn't bother me at all.

Mongrel

Silver Member
I don't think a single one of my cymbals naturally sit with the logos facing up,

Generally though, logo orientation doesn't bother me at all.
None of my Zildjians do either. lol

They all seem to sit East-to-West, most times with "Zildjian" on the left at the 9 o'clock position.

Doesn't bother me either.

Last edited:

Peedy

Best way to tell if and where your cymbals are unevenly weighted is to swap out your regular felt with one from a HH clutch. The stand will need to be pointed straight up, of course. Felt's smaller diameter will allow the cymbal to lean where it wants to go. Pretty sure everything I own 16 inch and up leans at least a little.