Need suggestions for using midi to play mallet parts

Mezto

I'm a small-time drummer that frequently plays in the pit for local musical theater. I would like to be able to cover some mallet parts, as well as timpani, but don't have the room in the pit, let alone the instruments themselves! I've used a Roland SPD-20 for a number of years to play hand percussion, sound effects and some timpani but it doesn't lend itself to mallet parts even though all the mallet sounds you could ever want are in there.

I suppose the easiest answer would be to buy a keyboard with built-in Mallet instruments. There are dozens of them out there available used. But most are too big to fit into a compact pit setup. And the smaller ones are more toys than instruments, with crappy sounds.

So I started looking at midi keyboard controllers. I like the compact size and the onboard drum pads and i'm guessing I could assign various hand percussion like tambourine and triangle as needed to those pads? That would Save me hauling the spd20.

After a few days of research I'm leaning towards getting a 25 key midi controller with onboard drum pads, connecting via USB to either a tablet or laptop with appropriate software, and connecting that to my keyboard amp I already have.

So am I on the right track? Have any of my fellow drummers done this? Any pros or cons to my thoughts? Any advice for a 53 year old MIDI beginner like myself? Im not looking to do recording or production, just live performance. And I don't need top of the line gear since I only play one or two shows a year for very little to no pay.

electrodrummer

"it doesn't lend itself to mallet parts " .... yet a keyboard does?
So, explain the issue and we'll see what's a good compromise.

Most pit people I know use a Mutli12, and optionally a MalletKat (latter not cheap)

Mezto

"it doesn't lend itself to mallet parts " .... yet a keyboard does?
So, explain the issue and we'll see what's a good compromise.