Need help tightening up the rhythm section of my band

IPC

Hey guys, recently my band began recording some of our songs to make a short ep. I was first doing drum tracks, when I got there and tried the first day I had a pretty tough time getting anything done because of my timing. This came as a shock, as a drummer I thought my timing was pretty good. At any rate I practiced my timing alot and went back and had a much easier time.

Now, just yesterday my bass player, ( who happens to be a novice), goes into the studio and he can't record his parts over the drum tracks. I was very concerned but not upset as I learned that a recording session is different from jamming and rehearsing myself. Anyway, In light of this we want to do some serious, serious practice to get ourselves in tip top playing shape. So basically im looking for ideas on how we can improve both our timings. Obviously the metronome is essential but I was hoping for some other helpful tips that might get us improving at a better rate and help us make the absolute most of our playing time.

Grace :)

You say the bassist is a novice...does s/he know how to follow the drums? By that i mean if you played a beat would they know where beats 123 and 4 are? Or are they just guessing?

If the bassist isnt confident with this then try explaining with the basic rock beat bass on 1+3 snare on 2+4 and see if they can follow it exactly in time. Then make the beat more interesting for you and see if they can still find where the 123+4 is.

You could be having problems because the bassist simply doesnt know how to find the beat. If so just this should help

IPC

Right, I'll definitely bring that up. I think he has a general understanding but that might be the case. I don't know too much about bass, but do you think that the bass should be following the bass drum? Thanks for the help.

Grace :)