Need help practicing?

Hi everyone, I’m a New drummer who’s just got a practice pad. I’m self taught for the minute but I’m not sure if I can find a good drum teacher in my area.

I’ve been setting myself goals and working on my techniques with a metronome. My Daily Practice would consist of warming up each hand then after that single stroke rolls with a metronome for about 10 minutes then I’ll move on to finger technique.

My question is as I’ve got no teacher I’m struggling in seeing if this is the right way to practice. I know everyone’s different in there own ways. I would say my goals are increasing speed and playing the songs I want to etc greenday, foo fighters and eventually joining a band. Obviously I’m really enjoying drumming I just want to keep progressing and completing my goals but I’m struggling where to start. Could anyone help me out on explaining how they practice and with a metronome aswell put in prospective cheers.

GetAgrippa

Platinum Member
Do a DW search for metronome use, good drum books, and specific threads of your interest. There's a ton of info already gone over, but I'm sure plenty will give you guidance directly here-first most will say get a teacher.

Odd-Arne Oseberg

Platinum Member
This becomes a very general and wide question.

If you want to be your own teacher and can handle it, make a list of goals and keep a log.

When learning songs, if some of it is beyond your understanding or capabilites, focus on learning and understanding the structure of the songs first.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
pas-drum-rudiments-2018dcccc96de1726e19ba7fff00008669d1.pdf

Copy the above link into your browser. It is a .pdf of 40 Percussive Arts Society Rudiments. I keep it on my phone for reference. I really don't know why, most of them are committed to memory at this point.

The ones with an asterisk (*) are the original 26 American Standard.