My thoughts on Evans’ UV1 &2 (and why I’m sticking with Remo)

Pass.of.E.r.a.

Gold Member
Yay for click-bait titles but it obviously worked so…

So I’ve been using Remo heads for the past 15 years or so and at the beginning of 2020 a trusted friend and gear adviser was really pushing for me to try out some Evans stuff, specifically the UV1 on a new (to me) vintage Supra I had just picked up.

And I loved it.

2020 being the year that it was, I was able to spend far more time in the practice room than normal and really was able to put this head through its paces. Right off the bat what I loved about it was how after a few months of playing it still looked brand new. Compared to an Ambassador I found it to be a touch more “clicky” sounding, like someone had put a high shelf EQ on my snare, which was great for attack but it really didn’t have the low punch that I was used to. It wasn’t a really big deal to me since I could tune it down a little bit to compensate for it and the supra still sounded dope.

A little while later, the first remote session of the year comes through so that means time to replace the heads, and I figured this would be a great time to also try the UV2s on my toms. This is when my first red flag appeared. When I took the head off my snare (which at this point had been on for maybe 4 months) it was indented to the point of looking like it was several years old. Not just little stick marks, but like the centre 4” or so was noticeably lower than the rest of the head. I figured that maybe it just looked exaggerated because the head still looked new aside from that which was weird, so I’d just have to start putting a date on the head so I could know when to change it.

The UV2s had the same clicky quality that the UV1 had, but I found them really easy to tune (Tama Bubinga kit) and again, by compensating and tuning them a bit lower they sounded fantastic.