My Playing

Deltadrummer

Platinum Member
I added a couple of new songs to my myspace. I am making some good improvements in this post-bop style I am studying; but I am no Bill Stewart or Stan Taylor yet.

www.myspace.com/newdeltarising

zepplin92

thanks for sharing i enjoyed that, what kind of kit and cymbals are you using especially the ride.

Steamer

Platinum Member
Thanks for puuting them up Ken.

In "Speak No Evil" I can hear how things are coming along from your studies. Your phrasing and comping has more of the Elvin, Roy influence going on and you're taking chances to try a few things out within the music. Good stuff!

Deltadrummer

Platinum Member
Thanks Stan,

It's a studio kit. heads are long overdue for a change. But it's a DW. The bass drum is 20x24, so it gets the better of my once in a while. Does a mean Bonham though. The cymbals are Sabians, B8's and AAX. They've upgraded me. The ride is an old cymbal. I really don't like it for what I am doing, but it really cuts through.

Thanks for listening and for you kind remarks.

Last edited:

Deltadrummer

Platinum Member
BTW Stan, I have been using some of the more Tony-esque stuff in my playing. I love it but it is a bit hard to get the kind of cleanliness I want from it at this point. I notice you use a lot of Tony, no surprise there, any suggestions?

TheGroceryman

Silver Member
Awww man, I LOVEE Sugar, that melody is genius. That ride is very pingy for this type of jazz. I'd like the more washy, dark sound.

Steamer

Platinum Member
BTW Stan, I have been using some of the more Tony-esque stuff in my playing. I love it but it is a bit hard to get the kind of cleanliness I want from it at this point. I notice you use a lot of Tony, no surprise there, any suggestions?

Listen to lots of Tony....... :}