My First Acoustic Kit - Your Advice/Opinions Appreciated

ZootELoops

Hi everyone. I am a new drummer. I have been taking lessons for 6 months now and currently have a Roland TD-3 V-Drums kit. It is great for practice and playing while everyone is sleeping, but my instructor has suggested that I start playing with people and would like to invest in a new acoustic kit.

I have put aside about $1400 for this purchase and would like to get everything I need for that price (hardware, cymbals, drums, etc). Here is my dilemma, do I:

1) Find a used set on craigslist or ebay (looking at possibly Tama or Pearl Export) that is lower quality, but includes a "beginners set" of cymbals and hardware - and upgrade the heads, etc - spending between $500-$700 in all;

2) Purchase a new "beginner kit" for around $600, upgrade the heads and get decent cymbals, etc - spending between $800-$1000 in all, or

3)Purchase an all maple or birch set for $1000-$1200 and get a basic cymbal pack - blowing all my milk money on the best set I can afford.

Of course, I'm sure some of you will ask - what are my intentions. Well, I can tell you that I enjoy playing the drums and would like to eventually play/record with a band. because I an still fairly new and still learning, I do not want to get the top-of-the-line, but I also don't want to get something I will out-grow in another 6 months to a year. My style is mostly rock n roll, but I am taking lessons to learn a foundation that will allow me to not only read music but also be able to play a variety of different styles.

In addition to your advice as to which direction I should go, what brands would you recommend I look at. I have looked into the Pearl Vision series (VBX & VSX) but today in GC, the sales rep suggested I look into the PDP Platinum series. I also have heard good things about the Mapex Pro M series.

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful advice.

BattleArmor

Silver Member