Moving from chain drive to direct drive.

Hi, I am in the beginnings of learning ankle technique, playing around 180-200 bpm at the moment. I am eventually looking to start using swivel and heel toe, to go 250 BPM and above for death metal and black metal drumming. What I am asking is at what stage should I upgrade my pedal to a direct drive, and or if it is actually needed. I am currently playing on an iron cobra with max spring tension which feels quite heavy for me, but is the only way I can get speed. I can play to 195 with leg motion but ankle technique is proving difficult. Perhaps this is because I am not experienced with it yet. Any tips will be appreciated.
Thanks.

adamosmianski

Well, I don't play that type of music, but just from a fellow drummer's perspective I would say that if you're planning on changing your setup at some point anyway, you might as well do it now before you put in all that practice. In terms of whether the switch is necessary, personally I would say no, as at those speeds you're not going to be putting insane amounts of force into the pedal anyway, but perhaps some of the metal drummers on here have a better insights. Best of luck either way.

Well, I don't play that type of music, but just from a fellow drummer's perspective I would say that if you're planning on changing your setup at some point anyway, you might as well do it now before you put in all that practice. In terms of whether the switch is necessary, personally I would say no, as at those speeds you're not going to be putting insane amounts of force into the pedal anyway, but perhaps some of the metal drummers on here have a better insights. Best of luck either way.
Yes, there is a transition period to moving onto these high end pedals, but I wonder if moving onto to a trick or axis double pedal it might actually hinder my progress.

bud7h4

Silver Member
. . . . at what stage should I upgrade my pedal to a direct drive, and or if it is actually needed.